Shannon Wright, MD PhD, President

Sharon WrightShannon Wright dominated women’s racquetball throughout the late 1970’s and early 80’s. During her 12-year career she racked up over 35 professional tournament victories, captured seven National Championships, and finished #1 on the Women’s ProfessionalRacquetball Association (WPRA) Tour four

times. She is said, by some,to have revolutionized women’s racquetball with her hard-hitting style and aggressive play.

During her career she was heavily involved in conducting clinics throughout the country and authored “The Women’s Book of Racquetball” in 1980. Wilson Racquetball manufactured the “Shannon Wright Autograph” racquetball racquet. She competed in the 1981 ABC-TV Superstar Competition in Key Biscayne, FL where she took 3rd place. In 1976 she was named the International Racquetball Association (IRA) “Women’s Professional of the Year,” the following year was named the IRA “Athlete of the Year”, and in 1979 was selected by Racquetball Illustrated as the “Player of the Year.”

After being narrowly defeated by Lynn Adams in the 1982 National Professional Championships, Shannon left the professional circuit in 1982 to complete her education. In 1989 she completed a BS in Biochemistry from the University of Nevada, Las Vegas. In 2002 she completed her PhD in Neuroscience from the University of Minnesota. In 2006 she completed in her MD from the Medical School at University of Minnesota, where she currently teaches.

After induction into the Racquetball Hall of Fame in 2004, Shannon has become more active in racquetball once again. Currently she is serving on two Hall of Fame Committees and has had the honor of being selected as President of the Board of Directors of the United States Racquetball Foundation.

View Shannon's and other Hall of Fame inductees visit: